Ministry Team

Who runs a Baptist church?

The short answer: Everyone and no one. There are no bishops, no cardinals, no ecclesiastical oversight. The Congregation rules.

Since Roger Williams established the first Baptist Church in America in 1638, Baptists have been committed to religious freedom and the separation of church and state. Williams’ “wall of separation” concept in Rhode Island was so threatening to its New England neighbors that they spent the next 100 years trying to snuff out this “lively experiment” in governance.

As a consequence, “Baptist roots date back four centuries to people seeking the opportunity to worship God as individual members of freely organized and freely functioning local churches. Baptists have always have maintained the need for autonomous congregations, responsible for articulating their own doctrine, style of worship and mission,” according to the American Baptist Churches USA (ABCUSA). Point Pleasant Community Baptist Church is a member of the ABCUSA, the Philadelphia Baptist Association, and shares in the fellowship of Christians around the world by associating with the National and World Councils of Churches.

Point Pleasant Community Baptist Church has adopted By-Laws providing that the congregation elect, at its Annual Meeting (typically the last Sunday in January each year), the officers and board members who will be responsible for administering the church’s affairs in the coming year. The By-Laws also provide that the Congregation shall call a minister of its choosing, who shall serve until that office becomes vacant. Every member is entitled to speak and vote at any Congregational meeting.

The following members are serving as Church and Board chairs for 2012:

  • Church Clerk – Ms. Kelley Glenn Finelli
  • Treasurer – Ms. Wendy Stottlar
  • Financial Secretary – Mrs. Dolores Walter
  • Board of Deacons – Mr. J. Willis Buck Walter
  • Board of Trustees – Mr. William Slotter
  • Board of Christian Education – Mrs. Debbi Hutwelker